Welcome to the forums!

marshall class 5

Live sound reinforcement, running PA's and general amplifier/amplification questions and discussion.

Moderator: The GN support team


Postby rwagn182 » July 15th, 2011, 1:41 pm

hello, i am looking to get a marshall class 5 combo amp and want to use it live. the only problem is it has a 16 ohm output and i want to use an 8 ohm cab. is there a way to change the marshalls output impedance so i can use an 8 ohm cab? thank you
rwagn182
newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 30th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Postby kent_eh » July 16th, 2011, 7:33 am

It would probably be easier to re-wire the speaker cabinet to be 16 ohm, than to modify the amp.

Do you already have a speaker cab that you plan to use with the Marshal? What is it?
I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep
User avatar
kent_eh
Guitarnoise Denizen
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 6:39 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Postby rwagn182 » July 16th, 2011, 11:20 am

no i dont, i just wanted to rewire it to 8 ohm because my other amp has an 8 ohm out put as well. 16 ohm cabinets are harder to find in the 300-400 price range than 8 ohm also
rwagn182
newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 30th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Postby Moonrider » July 16th, 2011, 3:18 pm

rwagn182 wrote:hello, i am looking to get a marshall class 5 combo amp and want to use it live. the only problem is it has a 16 ohm output and i want to use an 8 ohm cab. is there a way to change the marshalls output impedance so i can use an 8 ohm cab? thank you


How are you with a soldering iron, electronic component schematics, and output transformer swaps?

it would probably save time, effort, and money to simply trade in the 8 ohm cab for a 16 ohm cab. Plus , you wouldn't void the warranty on your new amp.
Playing guitar and never playing for others is like studying medicine and never working in a clinic.

Moondawgs on Reverbnation
User avatar
Moonrider
Guitarnoise Denizen
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: April 28th, 2004, 3:59 am
Location: Midlothian, VA