Acoustic Recording

Recording engineering discussions and questions. Also a great place to discuss software, plugins, and computer based recording/arranging.
Post Reply
User avatar
DaveM
Full Member
Posts: 243
Joined: July 8th, 2003, 2:21 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by DaveM » July 9th, 2003, 2:45 pm

Paul,

You should probably get a decent sound card, a microphone and a mic pre-amp.   The sound cards that comes with most computers are not that good for recording.   You can get the m-audio 2496 for about $150 and that should come with some software too.  The mic and preamp should cost about the same, about $150.  I would suggest getting the shure 57 microphone.  It's best for mic'ing an amp.

Dave

Sometimes in life you get shown the light,
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.

User avatar
Nick
Administrator
Posts: 9694
Joined: June 17th, 2002, 11:04 am
Location: Alexandria, VA USA
Contact:

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by Nick » July 9th, 2003, 8:21 pm

are you plugging into mic or line in?
Click below for all my guitarnoise articles and reviews

http://www.guitarnoise.com/author/nicktorres/

My songs (Some not suitable for minors)

http://www.soundclick.com/nfshakespeare

User avatar
Alan Green
Guitari Lama
Posts: 8005
Joined: September 23rd, 2002, 1:35 am
Location: Little Cambridge, Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by Alan Green » July 10th, 2003, 1:29 am

Check your Soundcard settings - you might need to specify the input channel.


A :-)
"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger
"I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk

Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

User avatar
Greenbrick
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: July 2nd, 2003, 5:02 pm

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by Greenbrick » July 11th, 2003, 5:23 pm

also check the line in volume in your windows settings. you should be able to get to it via the control panel > settings.


User avatar
hueseph
Guitarnoise Addict
Posts: 2140
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 1:46 am
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by hueseph » October 1st, 2003, 12:50 am

your computer defaults to recording from mic. Check and make sure you're recording from Line. Double click the speaker icon in the taskbar on the lower right hand side of the screen. choose options/properties/recording and select line. deselect wave and mic. You should be in business.

User avatar
Nick
Administrator
Posts: 9694
Joined: June 17th, 2002, 11:04 am
Location: Alexandria, VA USA
Contact:

Re: Acoustic Recording

Post by Nick » November 7th, 2003, 6:10 am

Yep we had this question not all that long ago.

You want to make sure that source is line in for line in and mic for mic.

Click below for all my guitarnoise articles and reviews

http://www.guitarnoise.com/author/nicktorres/

My songs (Some not suitable for minors)

http://www.soundclick.com/nfshakespeare

Post Reply